

THE STATES assembled on Wednesday 24th February 2010, at 09.30 a.m. under the Presidency of the Bailiff, Michael Cameron St. John Birt Esquire.

All members were present at roll call with the exception of –

Senator Stuart Syvret – en défaut

Senator Frederick Ellyer Cohen – en défaut (défaut raised at 9.44 a.m.)

Senator James Leslie Perchard – en défaut

Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier – en défaut (défaut raised at 9.36 a.m.)

Deputy John Alexander Nicholas Le Fondré of St. Lawrence – ill

Deputy Anne Enid Pryke of Trinity – absent on States business

Deputy Sean Seamus Patrick Augustine Power of St. Brelade – en défaut

Deputy Shona Pitman of St. Helier - ill

Prayers

Committee of Inquiry: suspension of the Chief Officer of the States of Jersey Police P.9/2010

THE STATES commenced consideration of a proposition of the Deputy of St. Martin –

- (a) to agree that a Committee of Inquiry should be established in accordance with Standing Order 146 to inquire into a definite matter of public importance, namely the manner in which the Chief Officer of the States of Jersey Police was suspended from his duties on 12th November 2008 with particular regard to the procedures and documentation used in the suspension, the grounds relied on by the then Minister in taking his decision and his role and the role of other parties who were involved;
- (b) to appoint the following persons as members of the Committee of Inquiry
 - (i) Mr. Derek J.C. Bernard, Chairman;
 - (ii) Mr. Gerard C.L. Baudains;
 - (iii) Mrs. Elizabeth Jane Allan;
 - (iv) Advocate Timothy Hanson;
 - (v) Mrs. Margaret Holland Prior, J.P.
- (c) to agree, in accordance with Standing Order 146(5)(b) and (c)
 - (i) that Advocate Timothy Hanson should, if required, preside in the absence of the Chairman, and
 - (ii) that the quorum of the Committee shall be 3.

79 Price code: B

The Bailiff, in accordance with the provisions of Article 9(4) of the Police Force (Jersey) Law 1974 and Standing Order 82, ordered all strangers to withdraw from the precincts of the States and the doors of the Chamber to be closed.

THE STATES, having concluded the debate *in camera*, proceeded to vote in public assembly and rejected paragraph (a) of the proposition of the Deputy of St. Martin that a Committee of Inquiry should be established in accordance with Standing Order 146 to inquire into a definite matter of public importance, namely the manner in which the Chief Officer of the States of Jersey Police was suspended from his duties on 12th November 2008 with particular regard to the procedures and documentation used in the suspension, the grounds relied on by the then Minister in taking his decision and his role and the role of other parties who were involved.

Members present voted as follows –

POUR: 21 CONTRE: 26 ABSTAIN: 0

Connétable of St. Helier Senator T.A. Le Sueur Connétable of Grouville Senator P.F. Routier Connétable of St. Martin Senator P.F.C. Ozouf Connétable of St. Clement Senator T.J. Le Main Connétable of St. Lawrence Senator B.E. Shenton Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S) Senator F.E. Cohen Deputy of St. Martin Senator A. Breckon Senator S.C. Ferguson Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S) Deputy J.A. Martin (H) Senator A.J.D. Maclean Deputy G.P. Southern (H) Senator B.I. Le Marquand Deputy of Grouville Connétable of St. Ouen Deputy of St. Peter Connétable of Trinity Deputy P.V.F. Le Claire (H) Connétable of St. Brelade Connétable of St. John Deputy D.J. De Sousa (H) Deputy K.C. Lewis (S) Connétable of St. Saviour Deputy M. Tadier (B) Connétable of St. Peter Deputy of St. Mary Connétable of St. Mary Deputy T.M. Pitman (H) Deputy J.B. Fox (H) Deputy T.A. Vallois (S) Deputy of St. Ouen Deputy M.R. Higgins (H) Deputy J.A. Hilton (H) Deputy J.M. Maçon (S) Deputy I.J. Gorst (C) Deputy of St. John Deputy A.E. Jeune (B) Deputy A.T. Dupré (C) Deputy E.J. Noel (L) Deputy A.K.F. Green (H)

Following the rejection of paragraph (a), the Presiding Officer informed the Assembly that paragraphs (b) and (c) of the proposition were deemed to have been withdrawn.

The Connétable of St. Helier, Deputy of St. Peter and the Deputy of St. John, in accordance with the provisions of Standing Order 106(c), declared an interest but remained in the Chamber for the duration of the debate.

Change in Presidency

THE STATES re-assembled after the lunch adjournment under the Presidency of Mr. Michael Nelson De La Haye, Greffier of the States.

Minimum Wage: revised hourly rate from 1st April 2010 P.14/2010

THE STATES commenced consideration of a proposition of Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier concerning a revision of the minimum wage hourly rate and rejected an amendment of Deputy Trevor Mark Pitman of St. Helier that for the figure of "£6.28" there should be substituted the figure "£6.36".

Members present voted as follows –

POUR: 9 CONTRE: 36 ABSTAIN: 0

Senator A. Breckon Deputy J.A. Martin (H) Deputy G.P. Southern (H) Deputy P.V.F. Le Claire (H) Deputy M. Tadier (B) Deputy of St. Mary Deputy T.M. Pitman (H) Deputy M.R. Higgins (H)

Deputy D.J. De Sousa (H)

Senator T.A. Le Sueur Senator P.F. Routier Senator P.F.C. Ozouf Senator T.J. Le Main Senator B.E. Shenton Senator S.C. Ferguson Senator A.J.D. Maclean Senator B.I. Le Marquand Connétable of St. Ouen Connétable of St. Helier Connétable of Trinity Connétable of Grouville Connétable of St. Brelade Connétable of St. Martin Connétable of St. John Connétable of St. Saviour Connétable of St. Peter Connétable of St. Lawrence Connétable of St. Mary Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S) Deputy of St. Martin Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S)

Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier
Deputy J.B. Fox (H)
Deputy of St. Ouen
Deputy of Grouville
Deputy of St. Peter
Deputy J.A. Hilton (H)
Deputy K.C. Lewis (S)
Deputy I.J. Gorst (C)
Deputy of St. John
Deputy A.E. Jeune (B)
Deputy A.T. Dupré (C)
Deputy E.J. Noel (L)
Deputy T.A. Vallois (S)
Deputy J.M. Maçon (S)

Change in Presidency

The Greffier of the States retired from the Chair during the consideration of the proposition of Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier concerning a revision of the minimum wage hourly rate and the meeting continued under the Presidency of the Deputy Bailiff.

Arrangement of public business for the present meeting

THE STATES rejected a proposition of Senator Paul Francis Routier that the Assembly should continue beyond 5.30 pm in order to conclude the debate on the proposition of Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier concerning a revision of the minimum wage hourly rate.

Members present voted as follows –

POUR: 8 CONTRE: 36 ABSTAIN: 0

Senator P.F. Routier Senator A. Breckon Connétable of St. John Connétable of St. Saviour Deputy J.A. Martin (H) Deputy I.J. Gorst (C) Deputy of St. John Deputy E.J. Noel (L)

Senator T.A. Le Sueur Senator P.F.C. Ozouf Senator T.J. Le Main Senator B.E. Shenton Senator S.C. Ferguson Senator A.J.D. Maclean Senator B.I. Le Marquand Connétable of St. Ouen Connétable of St. Helier Connétable of Trinity Connétable of Grouville Connétable of St. Brelade Connétable of St. Martin Connétable of St. Peter Connétable of St. Lawrence Connétable of St. Mary

Deputy of St. Martin
Deputy R.G. Le Hérissier (S)
Deputy G.P. Southern (H)
Deputy of St. Ouen

Deputy R.C. Duhamel (S)

Deputy of Grouville Deputy of St. Peter Deputy J.A. Hilton (H)

Deputy P.V.F. Le Claire (H)

Deputy K.C. Lewis (S) Deputy M. Tadier (B)

Deputy A.E. Jeune (B)

Deputy of St. Mary

Deputy T.M. Pitman (H)

Deputy A.T. Dupré (C)

Deputy T.A. Vallois (S)

Deputy M.R. Higgins (H)

Deputy A.K.F. Green (H)

Deputy D.J. De Sousa (H)

Deputy J.M. Maçon (S)

Adjournment

THE STATES adjourned, having agreed to reconvene on Thursday 25th February 2010 to continue consideration of the proposition of Deputy Geoffrey Peter Southern of St. Helier entitled 'Minimum Wage: revised hourly rate from 1st April 2010' (P.14/2010) and the outstanding items of public business.

THE STATES rose at 5.37 p.m.

M.N. DE LA HAYE

Greffier of the States